About Us

The Northern Territory Farmers Association (NT FARMERS) is the peak body for the plant based Industries in the Northern Territory and is an amalgam of the former Northern Territory Agricultural and Horticultural Associations. NT Farmers commenced operation on 1 July 2012.

Our members are made up of a range of incorporated entities and other commodity or special interest groups. We currently have more than 100 members in our organisation.

Our Association is governed by a Board of Directors representing various commodity groups from the following regions:

  • Greater Darwin
  • Katherine
  • Douglas/Daly
  • Central Australia

Our Board of Directors consists of:

  • President: Simon Smith
  • Vice President: Paul McLaughlin
  • Treasurer: Kate Peake
  • Public Officer: Martina Matzner
  • Director Han Shiong Siah
  • Director: Vin Lange
  • Director: Brett Gill
  • Director: Andrew Dalglish
  • Director: Tou Saramat Ruchkaew
  • Director: Dave Gray
  • Director: Gavin Scurr
  • Director: Frank Miller

Meeting individual grower needs

  • Maintaining market access;
  • Effective advocacy;
  • Provision of grower advice and quality resources;
  • Training;
  • On farm engagement;
  • Regular member briefings;
  • Project management;
  • Regular publications;
  • Annual social events;
  • Industry promotional campaigns;
  • Grower led and grower centered policy and infrastructure priorities;
  • Facilitating research and development and extension activities, to meet future industry challenges;
  • Linking growers with new market opportunities;
  • Regular communication on regulation, market access and current information updates;
  • Advice and assistance in Biosecurity management, support and planning services in the event of an incursion or outbreak;
  • Supporting access to resources such as land, water, labour, transport;
  • Identifying and facilitation of training (Business Management, First Aid, Chemicals, Quality Assessment, Work Health and Safety, Social Media, Human Resources)
  • Representation on issues at a local, regional, national and international level;
  • Organisational development – strategic growth, building membership, providing quality services, building industry identity;

Meeting grower group needs

  • Provision of Member Association and Commodity group secretariat services – meeting organisation, venue provision, constitution management, governance, membership management;
  • Member Association and Commodity group finance management services – bank reconciliations, creditors and debtors, invoicing, reporting, managing funds, audits;
  • Forums and workshops – organisation, venue provision, arranging speakers and facilitators;
  • Project management – application support and development, grant administration, funding management and acquittal, employment of project consultants, communications, project reporting, project activities;
  • Conferences – commercial provider, source and manage project funding, tender for and employ conference consultants.

Strategic Partnerships

The Northern Territory Farmers Association is strategically aligned with a range of organisations. Many of these organisations partner with us in the delivery of projects, share resources, benchmark, or have alignment to key issues.

Partners include:

  • The Northern Territory Government
  • The Australian Government
  • National Farmers Federation
  • Australian Mango Industry Association
  • Rural Business Support
  • Hort Innovation
  • Growcom
  • Agrifutures
  • Grains Research & Development Corporation
  • Nursery and Garden Industry Australia
  • Industry Skills Advisory Council NT
  • Agsafe

Major Activities

  • NT Farmers is focused on some key priorities for the next 12 months and is undertaking a number of major projects including the development of:
  • Northern Territory Land and Water Policy;
  • Northern Territory Bio-Security Policy;
  • Northern Territory Horticulture/Agriculture Workforce Development Plan;
  • Industry Crisis Management Plan;
  • Mango Exports Program;
  • Local Asian Grower Engagement;
  • Creating a stronger footprint in our regions (Katherine and Central Australia)
  • North Australia Food Futures Conference
  • Rural Women’s Awards Program (in conjunction with RIRDC Rural Women’s Awards)
  • GROW NT – 6 publications per year to more than 400 subscribers.

Funded Projects

We undertake funded projects on a regular basis. Our projects include:

  • drumMUSTER
  • North Australia Food Futures Conference and Roadshows
  • Mango Industry Business Development
  • Industry Economic Profile
  • Katherine and Central Australia Industry Development
  • VegNet 15044 Enhancing Best Practice in Vegetable Production and Business Management in the Northern Territory
  • Workforce Planning Coordination
  • Bio Security Liaison
  • Various other industry research projects